Communities, Disaster, & Change

Communities, Disaster, & Change

Date(s) - 05/02/2014 - 09/09/2014
All Day

The Valdez Museum on Egan


Regular Admission

“Communities, Disaster and Change” is a traveling exhibition coordinated by the Valdez Museum and Historical Archive, in Valdez, Alaska. Framed by the 50-year anniversary of the devastating Good Friday Earthquake that struck Alaska on March 27, 1964, the exhibit features 28 of Alaska’s finest artists from around the state. Each artists has submitted one piece, although some works contain multiple elements, such as diptychs and sculptural arrangements, that address the theme of natural disasters’ effects on their communities.

This amazing exhibit was made possible by the contributions from the Western States Art Federation, the National Endowment for the Arts, the City of Valdez, the Valdez Museum, Alaska State Council of the Arts, the Rasmuson Foundation, and Alyeska Pipeline service Co.

©2013 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, or reproduced in whole or part with out express written permission.

Touring Schedule

The Valdez Museum
Valdez, AK
May 2 – September 9, 2014

Pratt Museum
Homer, AK
September 15 – October 18, 2014

Cordova Museum
Cordova, AK
November 1, 2014 – January 2, 2015

Well Street Art Company
Fairbanks, AK
January 9 – February 23, 2015

Windward Community College
Kaneohe, HI
March 2 – June 30, 2015

Coos Bay Art Museum
Coos Bay, OR
July 11 – September 26, 2015

Jeneau-Douglas Museum
Juneau, AK
October 6 – December 15, 2015

The Artists

Gunther Bach – Anchorage, AK
Annette Bellamy – Halibut Cove, AK
Don Decker – Anchorage, AK
Rachelle Dowdy – Ester, AK
Perry Eaton – Anchorage, AK
Susie Bevins-Ericsen – Anchorage, AK
Asia Freeman – Homer, AK
Esther Hong – Anchorage, AK
Margret Hugi-Lewis – Anchorage, AK
Linda Infante Lyons – Anchorage, AK
Maygen Janetta – Homer, AK
Denis Keogh – Cordova, AK
Ted Kincaid – Anchorage, AK
Margo Klass – Fairbanks, AK
Klara Maish – Fairbanks, AK
Jim Miller – Port Graham, AK
Roberta Mohatt – Fairbanks, AK
David Mollet – Fairbanks, AK
Rachel Mulvihill – Fairbanks, AK
Adam Ottavi – Ester, AK
David Rosenthal – Cordova, AK
Marjorie Scholl – Homer, AK
Ron Senungetuk – Homer, AK
Todd Sherman – Fairbanks, AK
Kathy Smith – Homer, AK
Sandy Stolle – Seward, AK
Sara Tabbert – Fairbanks, AK
Sheila Wyne – Anchorage, AK